Significance of the colours of Indian flag


India Flag – Facts: The National flag of India has three equal horizontal bands – the top panel is India saffron (Kesari), the bottom panel is India green and white middle band bearing in its center the design of the Ashoka Chakra in navy blue colour with 24 equally spaced spokes. It was adopted by the Constituent Assembly on 22 July 1947, when it became the official flag of the Dominion of India. The flag was subsequently retained as that of the Republic of India. The flag is based on the Swaraj flag, a flag of the Indian National Congress designed by Pingali Venkayya.

Significance of the colours of the Indian flag

Indian Flag
Indian Flag

Indian flag, by law, is to be made of khadi (a type of hand-spun cloth)
The Ashoka chakra on the Indian flag was taken from the Lion Capital of Ashoka. The Lion capital of Ashoka is a sculpture of four “Indian lions” standing back to back that was originally placed atop the Aśoka pillar at Sarnath by Emperor Ashoka.

  • Significance of Indian Flag and Colours

Orange/Saffron – Courage and Sacrifice/ a symbol of courage
White – Peace and Truth
Green – Faith and Chivalry
Blue Buddhist Spinning Wheel or Chakra in the center – signifies the spreading of spiritual blessings and well-being.

"If no one responds to your call, then go your own way alone". Open thy mind thy mind walk alone walk alone We not afraid, walk alone Open thy mind, walk alone. ---------------------------------------- A clear rejection is always better than a fake promise.